Kuwait has stopped issuing all types of visas

Kuwait has stopped issuing all types of visas

11 Mar 2020

Here is what you need to know

Kuwait has stopped issuing all types of visas in order to control the Covid-19 coronavirus outbreak.

The Kuwaiti cabinet has also ordered all cinemas, theatres, cultural centres and wedding halls to close down to prevent gatherings.

It has also extended the closure of all schools and universities for an additional two weeks and called on sports federations to halt all sports events and matches until further notice.

The new measures are part of plans aimed at restricting the spread of the virus – Kuwait announced that four new Covid-19 cases on Tuesday, increasing the total number of cases in the country to 69.

Earlier this week, Kuwait’s local health authority also urged all travellers coming into Kuwait from seven countries to home quarantine themselves for a period of two weeks from the date of departure.

  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Philippines
  • Sri Lanka
  • Syria
  • Lebanon
  • Egypt

Last week, Kuwait also announced that passengers arriving from India, Egypt, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Syria and Lebanon, Turkey, Azerbaijan and Georgia have to provide health certificates confirming negative coronavirus results before getting onto a Kuwait-bound plane. Those found in violation of the injunction will be denied entry.

However, citizens of other countries, who have the option to enter Kuwait with visas on arrival, will only be issued week-long visas which will not be extended.

Passengers who fail to produce the certificate will be barred from entering Kuwait and will be sent back on the same carrier, which will be fined for infraction, officials said.